Search just our sites by using our customised search engine

Unique Cottages | Electric Scotland's Classified Directory

Click here to get a Printer Friendly PageSmiley

American History
U.S. Representative Mike McIntyre

Mike McIntyre has represented North Carolina’s Seventh Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives since 1997. 

As a member of the U.S. House Committees on Agriculture and Armed Forces, Representative McIntyre has worked tirelessly on behalf of farmers and servicemen and women.  His is also Chairman of the U.S. House Committee on Agriculture’s Subcommittee on Specialty Crops, Rural Development, and Foreign Agriculture.  His leadership was critical to passage of tobacco buyout legislation that will help farmers and add nearly $4 billion to North Carolina’s economy.  Congressman McIntyre also serves on the U.S. Naval Academy’s Advisory Board and is one of only nine members of the U.S. House of Representatives to be chosen for the U.S. Commission on Security and Cooperation with Europe that focuses on military security.  Additionally, Congressman McIntyre is the Co-Chair of the Special Operations Forces Caucus and Co-Chair of the Friends of Scotland Congressional Caucus.

[Overall, the Friends of Scotland Congressional Caucus is a bi-partisan caucus created in 2006.  Since its inception, the Caucus has sponsored the annual national celebration of Tartan Day on Capitol Hill. The Caucus was created to serve as a voice within Congress for Scottish-Americans, identify ways the U.S. and Scottish government can effectively work together, and pursue official recognition of National Tartan Day in the United States.]

Representative McIntyre is a member of the Blue Dog Coalition, a group that promotes centrist, fiscally responsible viewpoints to help bridge the gap between Democrats and Republicans.  Additionally, he is a Senior Whip on Capitol Hill, the Co-Chairman of the Blue Bog Coalition’s Business and Technology Task Force, Co-Chairman of the Rural Caucus Task Force on Jobs, Economic Development and Transportation, Founder and Co-Chairman of the Congressional Waterways Caucus, Founder and Co-Chairman of the Congressional Caucus on Youth Sports, Co-Chairman of the Congressional Task Force on Responsible Fatherhood, and former Co-Chairman of the Rural Health Care Coalition.

Representative McIntyre has been named the area’s “most powerful and effective leader.”  As such, he has received numerous awards for his hard work in Congress, including the Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award, the Conservationist Award from the North Carolina Coastal Land Trust, the 2005 Admiral’s Circle Award from the National Marine Manufacturers’ Association, and the North Carolina Employment Security Advancing Workforce Development Award.  Additionally, he was chosen the 2005 “Beach Preservationist of the Year,” and the National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare has honored him for his fight on behalf of senior citizens.

Read about how Mike saved Scotland!

Note on the Friends of Scotland Congressional Caucus

There are currently 45 members (List below).  In the past, they have hosted meetings with senior representatives of the Scottish government during their visits to Washington, DC and helped serve as a liaison between the U.S. House and the Scottish Affairs office at the British Embassy.  In addition to Tartan Day celebrations, the Caucus has been proactive in a request to make April 6th a nationally recognized day for Tartan Day.  During the 109th Congress, Congressman McIntyre and the Friends of Scotland Caucus has also been proactive in introducing and passing a National Tartan Day resolution within the U.S. House.

Current Members of the Friends of Scotland Congressional Caucus are:

Mike McIntyre, co-chairman
John Duncan, co-chairman

Neil Abercrombie   (D-HI)
Rob Aderholt           (R-AL)
Allen Boyd                (D-FL)
Henry Brown            (R-SC)
John Campbell         (R-CA)
Russ Carnahan       (D-MO)
Ben Chandler          (D-KY)
Howard Coble          (R-NC)
Joseph Crowley       (D-NY)
Susan Davis            (D-CA)
Bob Etheridge         (D-NC)
Randy Forbes           (R-VA)
Bob Goodlatte           (R-VA)
Steny Hoyer              (D-MD)
Dennis Kucinich      (D-OH)
Tom Lantos               (D-CA)
John Larson             (D-CT)
Daniel Lipinski         (D-IL)
Carolyn McCarthy    (D-NY)
Jim McDermott          (D-WA)
Patrick McHenry     (R-NC)
Cathy McMorris-Rodgers (R-WA)
Kenny Marchant      (R-TX)
Jim Matheson          (D-UT)
Brad Miller                (D-NC
Jeff Miller                   (R-FL)
Candice Miller          (R-MI)
Jerry Moran               (R-KS)
Ted Poe                     (R-TX)
Mike Rogers             (R-AL)
Mike Ross                 (D-AK)
Loretta Sanchez       (D-CA)
David Scott              (D-GA)
Brad Sherman          (D-CA)
Ike Skelton                (D-MO)
Lamar Smith             (R-TX)
Fred Upton                (R-MI)
Mel Watt                     (D-NC)
Peter Welch              (D-VT)
Roger Wicker            (R-MS)
Joe Wilson                (R-SC)
Dan Boren                (D-OK)
Timothy Walberg      (R-MI) 

Names in bold were sponsors of Tartan Week Resolution.

Return to our American History Page


This comment system requires you to be logged in through either a Disqus account or an account you already have with Google, Twitter, Facebook or Yahoo. In the event you don't have an account with any of these companies then you can create an account with Disqus. All comments are moderated so they won't display until the moderator has approved your comment.

comments powered by Disqus