Search just our sites by using our customised search engine
Unique Cottages | Electric Scotland's Classified Directory

Click here to get a Printer Friendly PageSmiley

Significant Scots
Robert Currie

May 3, NEW YORK, NY – Today, the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations – NECO, announced recipients for the 2017 Ellis Island Medals of Honor. Vice President & Chief Communications and Public Affairs Officer of J.M. Huber Corporation Robert Currie, former astronaut Buzz Aldrin, CEO of PepsiCo Indra Nooyi, TV host and journalist Fareed Zakaria, CEO of HSN Mindy Grossman, former actress and film studio executive Sherry Lansing, chef and restaurateur Thomas Keller, are amongst the one-hundred outstanding Americans in business, government, medicine, art and education, will receive the 2017 medal.

Robert ‘Bob’ Currie is a respected leader in the philanthropic and cultural heritage community. Some of the many programs he has led or supported include, the Children’s Aid Society of New York, the British Soldiers Fund, the USO and the Community Food Bank of New Jersey. In response to Hurricane Katrina, Currie produced "No One is Alone: A Concert for Hope," which raised funds to support emergency relief efforts in the Gulf Coast. He was also actively involved in Superstorm Sandy relief efforts.

From 1993 to 2002, he served as Chairman of the Ethnic Advisory Council for the State of New Jersey. Robert was appointed by Governor Whitman to the NJ Advisory Committee on the Preservation and Use of Ellis Island in 1998. In 2000, the committee's work developed into the Save Ellis Island Foundation where Mr. Currie currently serves as Director and Secretary. Robert is responsible for all aspects of internal and external communications, including employee communications, public relations, and crisis communications for the J.M. Huber Corporation.

In its 31st year, the Ellis Island Medal of Honor ceremony will once again be held on Ellis Island starting at 6:30pm on May 13. The ceremony will be followed by a black-tie Gala Dinner in the historic Great Hall, the original registry room and gateway for 12 million immigrants to the US.

“Ellis Island remains an iconic symbol of hope, new beginnings and freedom. NECO’s Medals of Honor stand to remind citizens to support ethnic inclusion, diversity and pursuit of the American Dream for all, something especially needed in the current political climate,” said Nasser J. Kazeminy, Chairman of NECO.

The medal recognizes individuals who have made it their mission to share with those less fortunate their wealth of knowledge, indomitable courage, boundless compassion, unique talents and selfless generosity; all while maintaining the traditions of their ethnic heritage as they uphold the ideals and spirit of America. Since the Medal was founded in 1986, NECO has honored such distinguished and diverse Americans including: seven Presidents of the United States; Nobel Prize recipient Elie Wiesel, Generals Norman Schwarzkopf and Colin Powell, Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, Secretaries of State, Madeline Albright, Condoleezza Rice and Hillary Clinton, Bob Hope, Muhammad Ali, Frank Sinatra, Rosa Parks, Yue-Sai Kan, Mike Wallace and Mia Farrow, all of whom have distinguished themselves through their significant philanthropic and humanitarian contributions to this country.

“I am honored to be joining such a distinguished list of leaders representing all corners of the globe,” said Currie. “I must admit to having a unique affinity with this special place ever since Governor Whitman asked me to join her Advisory Committee on developing best practices to help secure the stabilization and preservation of the many buildings on the South Side of Ellis Island.”

The Ellis Island Medal of Honor ranks among the nation’s most renowned awards. The U.S. Senate and House of Representatives have officially recognized the Ellis Island Medals of Honor, and each year the recipients are listed in the Congressional Record.

Return to our Significant Scots Page


This comment system requires you to be logged in through either a Disqus account or an account you already have with Google, Twitter, Facebook or Yahoo. In the event you don't have an account with any of these companies then you can create an account with Disqus. All comments are moderated so they won't display until the moderator has approved your comment.

comments powered by Disqus