Search just our sites by using our customised search engine

Unique Cottages | Electric Scotland's Classified Directory

Click here to get a Printer Friendly PageSmiley

Scots and Scots Descendant in America
Part I - Scots in the Settlement and Development of The United States
Scots in the Presidents' Cabinet

THE four members of President Washington’s first cabinet were: Gen. Henry Knox, of Ulster-Scottish descent; Alexander Hamilton, of Scottish descent; Edmund Randolph, descended from the Scottish Earls of Murray; and Thomas Jefferson, of Welsh-Scottish descent.

Some of the more important members of the Presidents’ cabinets of Scottish or Ulster-Scottish descent are recorded as follows: Secretaries of State, Edward Livingston, Louis McLane, John Forsyth, John C. Calhoun, James Buchanan, Jeremiah S. Black, James G. Blaine, John Hay, Philander C. Knox. Secretaries of the Treasury: Alexander Hamilton, George W. Campbell, Alexander Dallas, William H. Crawford, Louis McLane, Thomas Ewing, Thomas Corwin, James Guthrie, Howell Cobb, Salmon P. Chase, Hugh McCulloch, John G. Carlisle, Leslie M. Shaw, Franklin MacVeagh, and William G. McAdoo.

Secretaries of War: Henry Knox, James McHenry, John Armstrong, James Monroe, William H. Crawford, George Graham, John C. Calhoun, James Barbour, Peter B. Porter, John Bell, James M. Porter, George W. Crawford, Jefferson Davis, Simon Cameron, U. S. Grant, James D. Cameron, George McCray, Alexander Ramsey, Robert Todd Lincoln, Daniel S. Lamont. Secretaries of the Navy: Paul Hamilton, Thomas W. Gilmer, William A. Graham, John P.. Kennedy, James C. Dobbin, George M. Robeson, Nathan W. Goff, Josephus Daniels.

Secretaries of the Interior: Thomas Ewing, Alexander H. H. Stuart, Robert McClelland, James Harlan, Henry M. Teller.

Postmasters-General: John McLean, James Campbell, Montgomery Blair, Frank Hatton.

Attorneys-General: John Breckenridge, Felix Grundy, Jeremiah S. Black, James Speed, John W. Griggs.

United States Senators (since 1860) : Blair (2), Cameron (2), Cockrell, Gibson, Logan, MeMillan, McPherson, Mitchell (2), Stewart, Teller, McEnery, Caff cry, Butler, McLaurin, Cannon, Vance, Johnston, Houston, Bailey, Blame, Burnside, Gordon, Sharon, Armstrong, Beck, Wallace, Thurman, Patterson (2), Ogleshy McDonald (2), McCreery, Brownlow, Valdwell, Kelly, Ramsey, Robertson, Scott (2), Tipton, Corbett, Harlan, Hill, Pomeroy, Wilson, Ross, Dixon, Davis (2), Guthrie, Grimes, Welch, Cowan, McDougall, Henderson, Hendricks, Nesmith, Carlisle, Breckenridge, Kennedy, Johnston, Hunter, Hemphill, Douglas, Morton, McComas, Ross, Clark, Foster, McCumber, Hanna, Culberson, Hamilton (2), Mills, Kyle, McBride, Brice, Lindsay, Blackburn, Palmer, Cullom, Call, Kenney, Beveridge, and others.

Speakers of the House: John Bell, James K. Polk, Henry Clay, Robert M. T. Hunter, Howell Cobb, James L. Orr, James G. Blame, Michael C. Kerr, Samuel J. Randall, John G. Carlisle, David B. Henderson, Champ Clark.

Return to Book Index Page


This comment system requires you to be logged in through either a Disqus account or an account you already have with Google, Twitter, Facebook or Yahoo. In the event you don't have an account with any of these companies then you can create an account with Disqus. All comments are moderated so they won't display until the moderator has approved your comment.

comments powered by Disqus