

Gc 941.003 L58t v.3 Atlas 1147575

SENSETION









SCOTLAND,

COMPRISING THE

SEVERAL COUNTIES, ISLANDS, CITIES, BURGH AND MARKET TOWNS.

PARISHES. AND PRINCIPAL VILLAGES.

WITH

HISTORICAL AND STATISTICAL DESCRIPTIONS:

A LARGE MAP OF SCOTLAND,

ENGRAVINGS OF THE SEALS AND ARMS OF THE DIFFERENT BURGHS AND UNIVERSITIES.

AND

. BY SAMUEL LEWIS.

Gc 941.003 L58t v.3 Atlas SUPPLEMENTARY VOLUME:

MAP OF SCOTLAND.

LONDON:

PUBLISHED BY S. LEWIS AND CO., 13, FINSBURY PLACE, SOUTH.

M.DOCC XLVI.

1140



1147575

CONTENTS OF THE SEVERAL DIVISIONS

OF THE

MAP OF SCOTLAND.

- I. The district of Lewis, in the Isle of Lewis and county of Ross and Cromarty; a small portion of Harris, also in the Isle of Lewis, but county of Inverness; and parts of Sutherlandshire, and the Mainland of Ross and Cromarry; together with the Title of the Map.
- II. The Orkney Islands; all Caithness-shire; nearly the whole of Sutherlandshire; and a narrow strip of Ross and Cromarty; also the Explanation of the Map.
- III. The southern part of the district of Harris; North Uist, Benbecula, South Uist, Barra, and others of the Herripes, or Western Isles; the Isle of Skye, and a great portion of Inverness-sine Mainland; the larger part of the Mainland of Ross and Cromarry; the Islands of Tiree, Coll, and Mull; and the northern portion of the Mainland of Argyllshire.
- IV. A very small part of Sutherland; the eastern portion of Ross and Cromarty, and of Inverness-shire; the entire Counties of Nairn, Elgin, Banff, Aberdeen, Kincardine, and Forfar; almost the whole of Perthshire; and the northern portion of Fife.
- V. The Islands of Islay, Jura, and Colonsay; the southern part of the Mainland of Arcyllshire; the Isles of Arran and Bute, both in the county of Bute; small portions of the Counties of Dumbarton, Renfrew, and Ayr; and the western part of Wigtonshire; together with a View of Melrose Abbry.
- VI. That part of Perthshire bordering on the River Forth, its southern limit; the Counties of Stieling, Clackmannan, and Kinkoss; the southern part of Fife; almost the whole of Dunbarronshire, Renyerwshire, and Ayrshire; the eastern part of Wigtonshire; and the entire Counties of Lanark, Linlithgow, Edinburgh, Iladdington, Peebles, Selkirn, Kirk-Cudbright, Durfreies, Roxburgh, and Berwick; the three last bordering upon England. This division of the Map also contains the Scale of Miles.









































































